Does God Love Me?

LoveofGod
Ever wonder how much God loves you?

When I married Kristen nearly 10 year ago, I wrote her a poem that was called “I Love You Because…”, and in it I try to list all the reasons why I love my beautiful bride.

When you love someone, there is a reason you love them.  When you love someone, there are things about them that cause you to have feelings for them. There are things that trigger that emotion, maybe at first its the way they look, or a friendship that develops, an attitude, but there is something that causes that initial attraction.

When you have a child, the “because” or “why” is a little different.  You love them because they’re your child.  You love them because they were given to you.  For some of you, you love them because you have to…

So I’ve been thinking about this over and over again – why does God love me?  If God were going to write me a poem and tell me why He loves me, you know what I think He’d say?  He’d simply say “I love you”.

Because you see, when God says He loves me, there is no because.  God just loves me.

John 3:16 states “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him would not perish but have everlasting, eternal life.”

Romans 5:8 states “but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

You see, God doesn’t love us BECAUSE we did anything, or because of who we are, He just loves us.

Today, live you day knowing that our God, the Supreme Creator of the Universe, the One who gave us life, the One who gave us emotions, friendships, family, the One who gave us HIS Only Begotten Son – loves us.

“How He Loves Me”

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us, oh,
Oh, how He loves us,
How He loves us all

And we are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If his grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.
And Heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss,
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about the way He loves me.

-How He Loves Me- Original Words by John Mark McMillan, rewritten by David Crowder

 

Leave a Reply

